Indoor Football League

The Indoor Football League, otherwise known as the IFL, was formed on August 1, 2008, after United Indoor Footballand the Intense Football League decided to merge. The move came a day prior to the 2008 National Indoor Bowl Championship game, in which United Indoor Football’s top team played the Intense Football League’s top team. The league currently consists of ten teams, up from six in 2018.

On March 13, 2009, the first IFL game kicked off. That season, the Billings Outlaws defeated the River City Rage in the United Bowl 71-62. 

The IFL peaked in 2010 with 25 teams to start the season. Since then the league’s membership has slowly declined, losing teams to attrition, other leagues, or bankruptcy.  

2019 Standings

Arizona Rattlers 14-1
Iowa Barnstormers 12-2
Sioux Falls Storm 12-3
Green Bay Blizzard 9-5
Nebraska Danger 7-7
Tucson Sugar Skulls 7-7
Quad City Steamwheelers 6-8
Bismarck Bucks 2-12
San Diego Strike Force 1-13
Cedar Rapids River Kings 1-13

2020 Expansion

Oakland, California (Oracle, Arena)